Alliance of Independent Press Councils of Europe (AIPCE) uses cookies to give you the best experience on our websites. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies as described in this Privacy Policy. Click here to remove this message.


Australian Press Council

Logo - Australia


The Australian Press Council was established in 1976 and is responsible for promoting good standards of media practice, community access to information of public interest, and freedom of expression through the media.

The Press Council is also the principal body with responsibility for responding to complaints about Australian newspapers, magazines and associated digital outlets. 

In accordance with its Constitution, the Council pursues these goals by

The Council

The Council currently has 23 members, comprising the Chair and

The independent Chair is chosen by the Council. The public members and independent journalist members are appointed by the Council on the nomination of the Chair. The nominees of publishers are chosen by the media organisations which have agreed to support the Council and be subject to its complaints system. All members are expected to act and vote as individuals, not as representatives of any organisation or interest.

Logo - Australia

Australian Press Council
PO Box 1014
North Sydney NSW 2059

(02) 9261-1930

1 800 025 712

Key Personnel

Chair of Council

Neville Stevens AO

Chief Executive Officer

John Pender

Director of Complaints

Paul Nangle

© Copyright Alliance of Independent Press Councils of Europe, 2022